Pullet's beak won't stop breaking!!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by TheBlessedCoop, Jan 26, 2016.

1. TheBlessedCoop

TheBlessedCoop Out Of The Brooder

Jan 26, 2016
    Texas
    Hi there! I'm new to joining BYC but have used it for guidance for forever[​IMG] When my pullet was about four weeks old she broke her bottom beak. [​IMG] It healed up nicely but the top part continued to grow. Now she is four months. The top beak had gotten to the point to where it was cracking and chipping, so I thought it was the best bet to cut the end off so it wouldn't get any worse. It has been four days since I cut it and she is acting normal. There is another small chip in it already though. I don't want it to get any worse because there is hardly anything left to cut. I would love some insight from anyone who has experienced something similar to this. I just want to know if there is anything I can do to help her or should I just leave her be!! [​IMG]Thank you in advance

2. TwoCrows

TwoCrows Show me the way old friend... Staff Member

Mar 21, 2011
    New Mexico, USA
    My Coop
    Hello there and welcome to BYC! [​IMG]

This happens from a vitamin D deficiency, most likely genetic in origin. I had a chick that broke and chipped her beak several times too. Once so badly, the upper beak was over half gone. I found the only way to keep her beak from breaking was to dampen the chick feed so she stopped pecking at it. The feeders themselves are hard, so I switched to rubber tubs as they were softer. Both of these seemed to solve the problem. As the bird aged into a pullet and then a hen, she never had any further issues. Her beak is rock hard now.

Good luck with your girl, she is adorable! :)

1 person likes this.
  3. TheBlessedCoop

Jan 26, 2016
    Texas