Pullets in December or January?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by nsl1963, Nov 28, 2011.

1. nsl1963

nsl1963 New Egg

Nov 28, 2011
    Hello,

I am new to this forum and am really excited about getting started with chickens. I live in Hoover, Alabama and would like to know if it is possible to get pullets in December or January. Would they be laying? Does anyone have any resources on where to get them this time of year? Thanks!!

2. jmtcmkb

jmtcmkb Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 2, 2011
    New Hampshire
    hello and [​IMG]

I am totally new to chickens, but here are some thoughts:

I am starting to raise chickens at the coolest time of the year here in New England, so with your southern location it seems you would be fine provided you acclimate your chicks accordingly.

As far as resources, I dont know I ordered from MPC hatchery... I think supply is limited right now, but you should check it out [​IMG]

Laying eggs, they dont do that until 4-5 months as far as I know [​IMG]

edited to say Oh, maybe you are interested in buying pullets ready to lay? Maybe check craigs list, let's see what others have to say!

Good luck and enjoy

Last edited: Nov 28, 2011
  3. MustLoveHens

MustLoveHens Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 1, 2010
    Albion, Wisconsin
    Welcome to the Forum!!!!

You can raise chicks all year around. I live in Wisconsin and choose not to brood chicks in the fall and winter mainly because of the very cold weather. Another consideration for me is the weather and climate when I order the chicks.

The biggest issue you might come across is availability from hatcheries. Most hatcheries have limited "stock" selections this time of year. There are various reasons for this but over all most hatcheries start in Feb. The ones I'd try are Ideal and Privett and Welp. Ideal is in Texas Privett is in New Mexico and Welp is in Iowa, so that one I'd try last (Mainly due to the cold weather up here).