Pullets not laying at 27weeks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by PleasantPasture, Jan 20, 2012.

1. PleasantPasture

PleasantPasture New Egg

Jan 17, 2012
    I am new to Back Yard Chickens but I found it one day looking for answer about my pullets that are not laying yet. I was just wondering if anyone out their might be able to help me or point me toward someone to talk to about my problem? I purchased some ready to lay pullet hens at the end of Nov. and they were 18-20 weeks old then. Now they are 26-28 weeks old and I am only getting 18-24 eggs a day from them. I live in Northern Illinois and its the middle of Jan. so its cold and snowing here now but it was nice and easy for the month of Dec. and I figured that with nice weather the pullets would have started to lay by now. They have been on 24hr light since they were delivered because the guy I purchased them from said to keep them on 24hr light until they start laying full production and then bring them down to about 18hrs light slowly. I have around 200 birds total of these pullets and with all of them I'm only getting 18-24 eggs a day. I feed them all natural feed from a local farmer and I use Fertrell Nutri-Balancer for the feed. I give them a 50lb bag feed every day and have been putting Apple Cider Vinegar in their water for the last 12 days. Im at my wits end with these birds and am looking for any help out their to either get these birds laying. Any help you might have for me would be very helpful. Thank you so much.

2. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Ok, let's work through this carefully, as there are a number of things in your post, and some missing details.

I'm gonna guess around 200 given that you are feeding 50 lbs of feed per day. That is 1/4 of a pound of feed per pullet,. You can correct or adjust this estimate of mine. That is marginal in the cold weather.