Purchasing started chickens?

Discussion in 'Chicken Breeders & Hatcheries' started by Peeps298, Sep 28, 2010.

1. Peeps298

Peeps298 Out Of The Brooder

Sep 28, 2010
    Long Island, NY
    Hi everyone, Im new to the world of chickens and I have a question about purchasing started or juvenile hens. I would like to purchase egg laying hens I can move right into the new coop Im building, I really dont want to raise them from day old chicks if possible and I dont want to purchase birds over a year old where their egg laying cycle is reduced by more than a year. I have noticed that McMurray Hatchery offers started egg laying pullets for sale, but does anyone know of any other hatcheries that offer the same? Are there any members out there from Long Island or the surrounding area who might know of hatcheries that sell started hens around 4 months old ? Im leaning toward ordering from McMurray but wanted to check with the forum first for your opinions on the topic.

Thank you,

Ed:cool:

Last edited: Sep 28, 2010
  2. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens

All I wanted to say was that I have heard that when you buy started pullets they are a little more skittish of human contact, and maybe less friendly (less petlike). But if this doesn't matter to you, then go for it!

I have successfully ordered day old chicks from McMurray Hatchery, and was pleased. But I haven't tried started pullets.

[​IMG]

3. Peeps298

Sep 28, 2010
    Long Island, NY
    Quote:Thank you for the info. I really dont have a place in my home to raise day old chicks for a few months until they are ready to go in the coop. The started pullet seems perfect for me and yes i have heard the same about being skittish. Im hoping some extra tlc will cure them of this down the road.[​IMG]

4. ChickensAreSweet

ChickensAreSweet Heavenly Grains for Hens