Purina Poultry Feeds- Yes? No?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by koakritters, Jul 8, 2011.

1. koakritters

koakritters Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 27, 2011
    Petaluma
    Our new feed store is having a grand opening sale tomorrow, and they are advertising all Purina Poultry Feeds (and equine, and others...) are buy one get one free. I've never used their foods before, is it worth switching over to? I've got a bunch of babies right now, and several older ones that are ready to come off their starter food.

2. AprilW

AprilW Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 7, 2011
    north Georgia
    I raise rabbits in addition to having chickens. A lot of breeders refuse to feed Purina because their normally nice show rabbits weren't in good condition even on free feeding rations. I also know that my hens haven't laid a single egg since I bought Purina Layena. It could be something not related at all, but I'm interested to hear what others say.

3. Jack Sparrow

Jack Sparrow Out Of The Brooder

May 13, 2009
    Las Cruces, NM
    I'm feeding Purina medicated starter feed to my chicks ( 1 week old) but would like to see what others recommend too. I have no other brands to choose from and my chicks are doing well on Purina feed for now.

4. Mikee1948

Mikee1948 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 19, 2011
  5. chickmchickie

chickmchickie Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 6, 2011
    Ely Mn
    I always fed Purina to my chickens, and now first time getting chicks i got purina start and grow with out meds, due to mine are vaccinated.

6. pjknust

pjknust Chillin' With My Peeps

May 2, 2011
    Texas
    I have been feeding the Layena for over 2 yr. And the Purina medicated chick starter/grow to my baby chicks. No problems. I did order some soy free to add to the mix, and starting adding Ultra Kibble yesterday.
    My hens are 3 yr old so I dont get a bunch of eggs, and I think my dogs steal a few also.

pam in TX

7. gryeyes

gryeyes Covered in Pet Hair & Feathers