Put babies in with my big ladies! Advice please

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by mandielynn, Nov 13, 2019.

1. mandielynn

mandielynn In the Brooder

Apr 23, 2019
    I put my 15 week old babies in with my big girls....how long do they pick on each other. Its very cold here. The babies keep getting pushed into the nesting boxes because they are scared of the big girls, then when the big girls need to lay they are mad that the babies are in the boxes! They get turned on and pecked at often will it get better? Should I separate them again? The babies have been in a separate coop with a run since 3 weeks old the big girls free range so they have seen each other through the fence since 3 weeks. Im new to adding chickens to the flock

chrissynemetz likes this.
  2. chrissynemetz

chrissynemetz Grandkids and chickens, what more could you want

Dec 19, 2013
    Olathe Colorado
    The picking will stop in time. Make sure the younger ones have lots of places to hide and escape from the bigger girls. Also extra feed and water stations help. How many chickens do you have?
    How big is their coop and run? Pictures of your setup are always welcome :)

FortCluck likes this.
  3. mandielynn

Apr 23, 2019
    Its a decent size. I have 8 barred rocks (they are the bullies lol) and 4 polish & 2 olive egger babies! I will post coop pictures! I have 2 feeders that are good length and i leave water outside the coop since its winter. I check on them ALOT im literally obsessed with these chickens!!! The coop is about due for a change adding six more chickens has really made a difference on the messy factor in there lol so dont mind that! If they are all up on the roosting bars there is honestly room for almost 10 more

Attached Files:

4. mandielynn

Apr 23, 2019

Attached Files:

5. rosemarythyme

rosemarythyme Free Ranging

Jul 3, 2016
    Pac NW
    My Coop