Put grass with dirt in brooder or not

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by bevis, Feb 12, 2015.

1. bevis

bevis Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 9, 2014
    I have read that its a good idea to put a small clump of grass and dirt from outside
    in the brooder with the chicks to help start building an immunity to coccidia. I have also read that grass
    will clog up the crop of newborns. So is it or is it not a good idea to have grass and dirt in the indoors brooder.
    If there is a chance of causing the chicks more harm, i would think no grass and dirt.
    Im no professional chicken farmer so I'm trying to figure what is the best coarse of action.

Currently i have 2 box brooders in the house.
    1 with 6 chicks in it with an outbreak of coccidia at 3 weeks old.
    1 with 4 chicks that are 4 days old in it doing ok - This is why I'm asking about the grass.

I also wonder if the cocci can be transmitted through the air via the dander from box to box.

2. enola

enola Overrun With Chickens

Coccidia is pretty much all over the environment. I put a clump of grass (roots and dirt) in the brooders with my chicks each week. The grass stalks are generally too tough for them to actually pull off and try to swallow. But, they love scratching through the dirt that comes on the roots. I do not use medicated feed. I watch the chicks very closely and at the first sign of coccidia treat them with Corid.

3. lazy gardener

lazy gardener Flock Master

Nov 7, 2012
    CENTRAL MAINE