1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

putting 3 week old chicks outside?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by GreenLove, Mar 23, 2015.

1. GreenLove

GreenLove Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 3, 2015
    Has anyone put three week old chicks outside when it was 20-30 degrees at night? I have an unfortunate situation (25 chicks have decided to turn canibilistic) and they need a bigger brooder RIGHT NOW! If I put them outside in a horse stall with lots of bedding and a heat lamp, will they be okay? I'm very new at this, and underestimated their rate of growth and never new that they would peck each other to death.

2. SunkenRoadFarms

SunkenRoadFarms Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 11, 2014
    Maryland
    I do brood in our dairy office. It's unheated and not insulated other than the roof (cinder block walls, concrete floor). I use a Brinsea brooder plate normally, but have use heat lamps in the past. The main thing to worry about is drafts.

3. Old 76 Farm

Old 76 Farm Out Of The Brooder

Oct 17, 2014
    Central NY Country
    I haven't had chicks that young this time of year before but, I would do a test run with the heat lamp in the horse stall & see if you can keep the temp at around 85 degrees before putting them out there. You may need two heat lamps with the size of the stall & the outside temps at 20/30 degrees. Hopefully others will have some ideas for you.

4. GreenLove

Mar 3, 2015
    Yeah I was thinking about drafts also. I was thinking about putting old sheets or blankets on the stall walls. Thanks for telling me about your experience.

5. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas