Q's about Pygmy in heat.....

Discussion in 'Other Pets & Livestock' started by bheila, Nov 20, 2008.

1. bheila

bheila Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 8, 2008
    Kent, Wa
    I am new to goats and she is my first doe. I think she is in heat...I don't know. On Sunday she had what I can only describe to be like mucous coming from her vulva. It reminded me of a mucous plug. Kind of like when I was pregnant and going into labor with my kids. Sorry that's the best way for be to put it. Now there is no more signs of mucous but her vulva is swollen. Also her bag(milk sack) seems to be a getting a little bigger. She has only been with my wether. To my knowledge she wasn't breed when we got her. She is only about 7 months old. Do goats have false pregnancies like rabbits do? Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Last edited: Nov 20, 2008
  2. crazychickengirl

crazychickengirl Chillin' With My Peeps

May 20, 2008
    Glenmont, Ohio
    Ok...I've had two pygmys for the past couple of years, but never bred them or anything like that....but here's what I know. I was told that they go into heat every 3 weeks. And that they don't usually have very good tell-tale signs that they are in heat. But I had a friend that said usually when they are in heat, their tales will curve up over their backs. Don't know about the pregnancy thing though....I know they can be bred before they are a year old, but if she's only 7 months old, and you think she may be getting in milk, I'd think it's too early. I can't remember how long goats' justation periods are, but I know it's probably around 5 or 6 months old. And usually other animals don't get their milk in until closer to the due date.

But like I said, I'm no expert! Hope you get a real expert to answer you! LOL

3. helmstead

helmstead Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2007
    Alfordsville, IN
    Hmm...I could go either way on that description.