We need your amazing chicken photos for our 2020 Calendar! Submit your pics HERE!

quail chick with curled feet

Discussion in 'Quail' started by kateb77777, Jul 20, 2019.

1. kateb77777

kateb77777 In the Brooder

Jul 3, 2019
    so the good news three chicks hatched ok and seem fine. I moved them to the breeder as they were pecking at the newly hatched one and one had been in there quite a long time. These ones seem good so far, eating drinking sleeping pooping etc.

The fourth one still in the incubator has curled up feet/toes although they seem to be straightening out very slightly since it hatched about a couple of hours ago but they are still an odd shape and not normal. The chick is lying on its side. It looks like it's trying to get up but it cant.
    This chick took a long time hatching from the egg as compared to the others, seemed a big struggle is that why this happened?

i'm new to all this, what do I do with this fourth chick? I'm leaving it for now as dont want to open the incubator again since moving the older chicks.

2. kateb77777

Jul 3, 2019
    I found some info on taping their toes, how long after hatching should I do that? or should I wait and see if it improves on it's own?
    sorry for so many questions! it's all just so new at the moment.

3. DK newbie

DK newbie Songster

Apr 20, 2015
    Honestly, I'm not sure taping the feet has any effect at all.