Quail Chicks Dying

Discussion in 'Quail' started by HappyQuail, Jan 7, 2015.

1. HappyQuail

HappyQuail New Egg

Jan 6, 2015
    Hi, I got a king quail pair at the pet shop and the male hatched out 2 chicks and they turned out fine (great feather/fluff, no fighting or any troubles like that). Then the female hatched out another 5 quail chicks after the 2 other grew up and we put them into another cage. The 5 chicks looked fine once born but when they started getting some feathers 2 of them died and we don't know why. When I found them dead in the morning it was almost like they was squashed as they looked a bit flat. From this day I still don't know what happened to them but I really want to find out before another one dies. I'm quite new to quails (I got them because I couldn't get any chickens or ducks).

Housing:
    I have a triangular cage that's 109cm X 64cm. I keep them outside in the shade of a tree all day and all night (In Australia). I keep a tarpaulin on their cage at night to stop anything from spooking them or any birds from harming them. I also put the tarpaulin on them when I'm not watching them to keep the wild birds from pecking them and causing injury. It's also got a cat-carrier attached to it full with straw so they can sleep in their and lay eggs (the female stopped laying eggs in the box though and lays them outside, in the cage).

Food:
    I give them a caged bird mix which includes canola, white French millet, fine shell grit and panorama. I also give them small woodlice from my compost bin (which they love) every morning. I probably give them about half a cup full of bird mix in the morning and about 10 wood lice.

Water:
    I give them a little dish of water which is available all the time for them. I clean the dish and give them fresh water every 2 or 3 days.

Parents: