Quail coop...

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Warwick29, Jan 21, 2014.

1. Warwick29

Warwick29 New Egg

Jan 21, 2014
    Hi, I am new to poultry and I am planning on keeping some quails as they are small and inexpensive. the breed I am interested in is King Quails, are these quails hardy when it comes to hot and cold weather? I live in NSW Australia and it can get below freezing in winter and we'll over 30 degrees Celsius in summer. Will these quails be ok in a standard chicken coop or is insulation required. I have also read that quails prefer to nest on the ground and that a chicken Coop with a ramp leading to the nesting/ sleeping area is not a good idea... Is this true?

2. GD91

GD91 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 1, 2013
    UK
    king quail live in territorial monogamous pairs, not groups. You could keep them in a cage.

3. dc3085

dc3085 Chillin' With My Peeps

If by king quail you mean cbbq or button quail, then you will have a lot of work ahead of you housing them outside. FIrst as was mentioned before they do the best in pairs. Second the climate they originate from maintains between 40-85 degrees F. So during winter you would need to provide heat sources for each pair. The other problem I see keeping them in a chicken coop is their size. Do you think you can keep a hamster or a small rat in there and it not be able to get out? Button quail are about the size of a hamster and if there is hole they will find it.. Coturnix quail (Japanese quail) would be much better suited to what you are trying do.

4. GD91

GD91 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 1, 2013
    UK
    I agree.

Coturnix are great birds, you'll have a ball with coturnix.

I wanted King quail since they are so cute, but I read up on them & realized again - nope.

I'd have to separate them into pairs... what if I got left with one on its own after they hatched & were split into pairs.... they needed heat.... I couldn't eat them etc