Quail feed

Discussion in 'Quail' started by jack & mommy's duckies, Jan 2, 2011.

1. jack & mommy's duckies

jack & mommy's duckies Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 24, 2010
    I've been reading the thread on meal worms and think it would be a cool project for my son. Make him feel a little more included (he is only 4). But I've been wondering about seeds. I've read tons on google and they do say some use seeds with the feed and some don't. What are your thoughts???

And if you do use seeds can I have the exact name so I can search them out and add them if I decide I want to.

Also I hear things on cat food and others. Just looking for thoughts and opinions.

I'm gearing up for spring. This is my first year with all my birds (ducks, geese and quail..button and courtnix) and want to do it right.

Thanks

2. joe125

joe125 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 20, 2010
    Raising meal worms is a very cool project for anyone!...They are not really WORMS at all.

Good quality game bird food costs ME about 34 cents a pound. You just have to put it all in your pipe and SMOKE IT!

I'm not going to tell anyone what to do, but...just crunching the numbers....Game Bird starter is way cheaper than cat food, and the jury is still out on the meal worms.

Just my 1.78795 Cents. [​IMG] Inflation and all!

3. jack & mommy's duckies

Jan 24, 2010
    I wasn't thinking about making their diet just meal worms (and yes I know they are not worms...I've read the other thread) just thought it would be a cool way for him to feel included. He tries so hard but lets my quial out when he climbs into their raised pen with them to pet them. I thought this might be fun.

I do feed purina game bird feed. And it is great and cheap $14 for 55lbs can't go wrong there. And everyone is big and healthy and doing what quails should do.