Quail for meat: I want to know all! :)

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Alicia G, Jun 14, 2011.

1. Alicia G

Alicia G Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 29, 2010
    Nova Scotia
    Next year I plan on getting more unusual meat animals(well at least to me) next year and quail are one of the breeds I am interested in. So being a complete noob in the subject, I have LOTS of questions [​IMG]
    So I guess here they are! [​IMG]
    -What breed is good to raise? I know some people who have Courtix (sp?). Are they good?
    -How long do they take to mature?
    -What size do they usually get?
    -What do you feed them?
    -Can you keep them around other animals?(ducks/chickens/turkeys)
    -What is your experience with them?
    -Did you like to raise them?
    -Where they a breed you would recommend?
    And most importantly (or at least to me [​IMG]) How do they taste?
    I have had lots of different meats, duck, pheasant, turkey and chicken of coarse,moose, deer, and Guinea fowl, they tasted good, well we had them mainly cause they were too loud! [​IMG]

All advice is appreciated [​IMG]

Thanks

2. thekid

thekid Chillin' With My Peeps

ANSWERS:
    Coturnix- jumbo brown, a and m, and jumbo white
    you can eat one at 6-8 weeks
    jumbos and a and m get to 16-18 oz
    Game bird starter all their life [​IMG]
    NOOOOO WAY!!!!
    none but i am getting some soon [​IMG] always have to know all the info first [​IMG]
    Yes i would lol
    this question is the same as the first.
    Very Good!!!! I have 2 people who will support me on that [​IMG] JJ and Bill lol

3. Alicia G

Sep 29, 2010
    Nova Scotia
    So are courtix jumbo quail, and all the breeds you listed are just different lines of them? Or are they all completely different?

4. Fat Daddy

Fat Daddy Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 11, 2010
    Ks