Quail Hatching Question

Discussion in 'Quail' started by wbruder17, Aug 16, 2011.

1. wbruder17

wbruder17 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 7, 2010
    Portland, OR
    I have my silkie hen sitting on 11 coturnix eggs. Today is day 18 and one hatched, like clockwork. Can't tell about any of the other 10 pipping or not pipping. How many days do I wait before tossing eggs? I know with chickens its Day 25 after the initial 21. This is my first time with quail eggs.

2. shelleyd2008

shelleyd2008 the bird is the word

Sep 14, 2008
    Adair Co., KY
    The hen will leave the nest when the baby is 24-48 hours old so if the rest aren't hatched by then they won't hatch unless you have an incubator to put them in. However, since the hen is 'programmed' for chicken chicks and quail chicks have to eat a lot sooner, it will probably die before it gets that old unless the hens go by the sound of the baby's peeps to know when to feed them? Not sure on that. Quail can only go 12-24 hours before they have to eat, so if you plan to leave it/them with her I'd take it away and put it in a brooder for a day or so to see if any others hatch. They usually hatch pretty close together, but common rule of thumb is 3 days after the last chick hatches.

3. wbruder17

Jun 7, 2010
    Portland, OR
    The food and water are readily available. Should I show the chick the food tomorrow and will it go get food on its own the way chicken chicks will?

4. wbruder17

Jun 7, 2010
    Portland, OR
    Well, both mamas have been through this before and Mama Silkie is VERY good at it. They know chickie is there and will hopefully take good care of it. I just showed it the food and water and it wanted to be back under mama, which is where she told it to go....so we will see, I suppose.

I will wait another day or two. I really hope some more will hatch. 1 out of a dozen is not suc a good turn out...and I hate having one baby raised alone.

5. Mibotsu

Mibotsu Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2011