Quail Housing?

Discussion in 'Quail' started by catcrazy37, Feb 13, 2017.

1. catcrazy37

catcrazy37 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 4, 2014
    First of all, I've seen two opinions regarding roofing:
    1. Give them a low roof so they can't jump.
    2. Give them a soft roof so they don't get injured.
    Which would you say is better, or would you suggest something else?

Also, I'm wondering about the coop is made of/from in general.

I'm new to quail so any info is appreciated :)

EDIT: Another question. How separate do you have to keep them from chickens?

Last edited: Feb 13, 2017
  2. BobDBirdDog

BobDBirdDog Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 8, 2014
    Tennessee
    It all depends on if you are raising them as a pet in a limited amount of space, as meat/egg production birds, or for hunting (flight ready birds).

Low roofs will restrict you from entering the pen, so they are usually reserved for small areas where you will manage the birds in a 2x2 or larger cage up to about 6-8 feet, and the roof being less than a foot high. Pens/cages of this natrure are usually for pets and/or productions of meat/egg birds. In the latter concept, you are simply limiting the bird movements (fattening it up) or using it for egg producers, so there is no need for high roofs or a chance to fly.

In pens/Coops, you want at least enough height so you can walk in the area without being hunched over. The roof netting above needs to be soft netting of some nature so they do not spook and fly up and break their necks. Quail will usually run away from dangers, but if spooked by a night predator they may or willl burst into flight to evade the dangers, thus the soft loose netting.