1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Quail newbie questions

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Earl-Ray, Feb 19, 2014.

1. Earl-Ray

Earl-Ray Out Of The Brooder

Nov 15, 2013
    Howdy folks!! I am just starting to learn about quails and I am finding info on quails to vary from source to source and so i figured I would come ask some questions I have In a place I know I can get some good feed back. Any knowledge you may have would be a great help an much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
    Which of the two quails get bigger the jumbo brown or jumbo whites(a&m)? Is there any advantage to either one compared to the other?

And are the Pharaoh browns the same as coturnix quail?(the jumbos I mean, I am mainly interested in meat and eggs)

I really am leaning towards the A&M white quails but I dont know anyone in my area with those, but I do know a lady says she has jumbo pharaoh and she is close to where I live and at 4-5 weeks for 2 bucks I am thinking about just getting some of those, however I want the biggest ones I can get. Anyone know where to get some A&M whites around the Houston Texas area?

Also Does anyone know anything about quail on a green fodder/wheat sprout diet? I can get a good whole wheat feed sack good for sprouting for 13 bucks a 50lbs sack at a local feed store. My chickens eat it up. Can quails eat just that or should I still feed them wild bird starter along with that?

Thanks for any info yall.

2. dc3085

dc3085 Chillin' With My Peeps

Both texas and A&M and Pharaoh are names of colors of coturnix quail. True A&Ms are a jumbo white quail. Most white coturnix that you see are not A&Ms, but people will still call them that.