Quail not laying...

Discussion in 'Quail' started by quail1999, Dec 24, 2012.

1. quail1999

quail1999 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 24, 2012
    Hello! Complete coturnix quail newbie here...[​IMG]

So i have 10 adorable a&m coturnix quail ( 2 males and the rest females ) I bought them 2 weeks ago and they are full grown ( Around 10 weeks or so...)

They have not been laying and i have been curious why...[​IMG] They have 14+ hours of a heat lamp on them so they have plenty of daylight... It IS pretty cold here, just above freezing, but they haven't been laying at all. They have a dustbath, branches to play in, a warm blanket put over their hutch at night...

Since it's cold i don't expect very many eggs, but i only found one egg, and that was on the very first night i had them... Are they alright, or is it just them adjusting to their new home?

I don't mind them not laying too much, because they are my pets, but it would be nice to have some fresh eggs[​IMG].

Thanks![​IMG]

Last edited: Dec 24, 2012
  2. SeptemberQuail

SeptemberQuail Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 10, 2012
    Australia
    I've pretty much gone through exactly what you're going through now.
    I got my first quail (a trio) in September this year (hence my username), and was confused as to why they never laid any eggs after the first week or so
    It took about a month before my females started laying, and a week later, I found out that they were fertile!

Anywho,
    What you've got going is great! But just remember, quail don't like changes to their environment. So, as you said, they're probably just adapting to their home.
    Maybe the hen who laid an egg on the first day, had the egg already 'built' inside of her during her old home and when she moved to her new home, she just had to lay it.

What are you feeding them?
    As long as it's around 22% protein and above, and they're getting enough calcium, then you should expect more eggs from your 8 females soon.