Quail questions (coturnix)

Discussion in 'Quail' started by lehouseofdog, Jun 4, 2016.

1. lehouseofdog

lehouseofdog Just Hatched

Jun 4, 2016
    richmond va
    I'm new to quail and have a few questions. Probably answered somewhere else in here but I google searched and didn't get an answer.

I went to a friend's farm a few weeks ago, just to hang out and learn about chickens. She also has quail and we collected from her quail pen. When we went in the house we started talking about incubating eggs. I asked if the eggs we had collected were fertile she said they were. Then gave me a bucket of throw away eggs and asked if I wanted to give it a try. They were eggs that had been laid over the past couple of weeks and we had terrible rains and they weren't collected timely. So they weren't fit for eating and were going to be thrown away. I set about 60+ eggs. A couple went sour within a day or so and I threw out 4, two rotten and two suspected. I had 35 hatch (one died during the hatch, never got out, a little blonde). Three had leg deformities (also little blondes) and one just suddenly died today while I was out. One of the bigger ones a bluish gray striped one.

My question: There are still about 20 eggs in the incubator and none of them smell. How long do I wait? It's day 20
    Also, I put in some of the fresh eggs we collected the same day I got the throw away eggs. None of them hatched. Is that because they went right in? Did they need time to set? Or more time to cook?