quail with a crooked neck

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Mibotsu, Nov 20, 2011.

1. Mibotsu

Mibotsu Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2011
    Balbriggan, Ireland
    so I have this 1 bird he is 4 weeks old now the only problem is he cannot move his head pass the right side he can look forward and to the right but has problems to the left I do not see it being a problem right now as he has no other problems feeds and drinks properly.
    I am going to leave him be and see what happens I do not think it will be in issue later in life but I was wondering if it might be genetic or just a mistake.
    any input

2. Orange Ribbon

Orange Ribbon Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 14, 2011
    I'm not trying to act like a quail expert by any means, but I'd say unless it is an injury it is most likely a birth defect. I originally was going to say I doubt it is genetic, but had to edit to say I don't know, because I am not a genetics expert either! [​IMG]

Last edited: Nov 20, 2011
  3. Mibotsu

May 23, 2011
    Balbriggan, Ireland
    that is exactly what I thought it was so I was just going to leave him be and let him be

4. Mibotsu

May 23, 2011
    Balbriggan, Ireland
    oh and I do mean it is a her so at least I'll get in eggs from her

5. Stellar

Stellar The Quail Lady

Feb 6, 2010
    Tampa Bay
    Sometimes kinks happen. In the brooder they can sleep a special way and their necks bend that way. I have a male that would sleep on one side and his head is a bit tilted. He is 3 weeks old and still kicking. I would leave him be unless you see problems in the offspring.

6. 7L Farm

7L Farm Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 22, 2010
    Anderson, Texas
    I had two Bob Whites that had crooked necks I isolated them & put chick saver & ACV in their water. With in a week they were fine & I put them back in with the others. No problems since they are now going on 9 months .

7. MobyQuail

MobyQuail c. giganticus

Sep 10, 2010
    Quailtropolis
    here is a good link