1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Quails with Coryza

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Melaniepit, Aug 14, 2014.

1. Melaniepit

Melaniepit New Egg

Aug 9, 2014
    Hi !
    I'm very new at keeping quails and I just bought 4 females from a local "breeder".
    The day after I brought them home,I noticed one of them's eye was swollen and couldn't open it. I'm pretty sure it's Coryza. I treated her with eye drops,separated her from the others and now she's back to normal but now it's happening to another one who is also getting better.I'm shortly getting fertile eggs from another breeder and I'm wondering if the quails can infect the new ones once they hatch? I also own a Cockatoo and five parakeets,are they at risk ? The quails were inside the house because I'm "skunkproofing" my chicken coop.Thanks in advance !

Last edited: Aug 14, 2014
  2. dc3085

dc3085 Chillin' With My Peeps

Wash your hands thoroughly between handling any of your other birds. As far as I know the only birds really resistant to coryza are waterfowl but I honestly don't know if parrots can become infected or not. I would assume they can just to be safe.

Is there any nasal discharge or swelling?

Can you listen to it's breathing? how does it sound if so?

Do the nostrils or beak area smell foul?

Is it just one crusty eye on one bird? Could you take a picture?

If you don't notice any nasal discharge or foul smell it could be as simple as an eye infection since they look quite nasty when they advance.

Once a bird is infected with coryza they will carry it for life and transmit it to any birds that contact them or consume their feces.

3. Melaniepit

Melaniepit New Egg

Aug 9, 2014