Question about broodiness

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Puffinluffin, Jan 28, 2014.

1. Puffinluffin

Puffinluffin Out Of The Brooder

Jan 27, 2014
    My hen is b**** pardon my language. We've had our chickens for three days now I'm very new at this, but from what I gather she's just simply unfriendly.. I don't believe she's broody, she's not trying to nest, she's eating/drinking fine and any other sign of her being broody is absent. I've come to the conclusion she's an unfriendly chicken...

The rooster. Sweet as pie, is not defensive of her or anything.

If I go near her... She does whatever she can to get under, over near, inside of her man for protection. He trusts me, he's been more curious coming closer, takes food from me.

She pecks me, bites me, yells at me.. Not a screech but a back off woman type noise.

Dear lord what do I do... I have to clean the coop/refill the food and give them water. Everytimw I do she **** near has a heart attack whether I'm right there or 10ft away.

I'm not sure what advice I'm seeking more or less asking maybe if she does sound like she's going to be or is broody and how do I stop her!!!

Oh and by the way... She has not laid an egg.. Is that stress of new environment?

Last edited: Jan 28, 2014
  2. She may just need to adjust. She also may just need to get to know you. Give her a little more time.

3. Puffinluffin

Jan 27, 2014

I don't want to do anything wrong, or upset her so I am just letting her have space. It's just odd to me.. I generally thought shed be way friendlier than the rooster.

Thanks. I know I've asked similar questions before Haha and they are new with us :)

4. Puffinluffin

Jan 27, 2014
    does it help or hinder in the getting used to process if I hold her, or let her out more..