Question about broody hen and eggs

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by chickoletta82, Mar 6, 2017.

1. chickoletta82

chickoletta82 Just Hatched

Dec 20, 2016
    Hello all,

I am a newbie to hatching eggs. I wanted to ask some questions regarding the broody hen and eggs that i have put under her. She has been sitting on 3 LF eggs for 5 days now,i added 3 more two days after,and 3 more today. I candled 6 eggs today, 3 seem to have large dark things,no veins but maybe the air sack? 3 look like duds, but since they are newer eggs maybe they aren't developed enough yet. Back to my question, since the eggs have been put under her days apart,they need more days to hatch. She's sitting high up in a nest box, what should i do when the first chick/chicks hatch? Should i leave her and the babies in the nest box? Or should i move her into a kennel with the remaining eggs? I am scared she'll abandon the eggs,to either care for the hatched chicks or freak out because she isn't in her favorite nest box.

Last edited: Mar 6, 2017
  2. oldhenlikesdogs

oldhenlikesdogs Lots of Chickens Premium Member

Jul 16, 2015
    central Wisconsin
    You should always set eggs the same day or one day after. A hen will generally leave the nest 2 days after the first egg hatches.

Since she's in a nestbox you are going to have more troubles because chicks will hop out of the boxes before the mother leaves and will die because they can't return.

Two ways I would handle it is to pull chicks as they hatch and attempt to give them back after all have hatched.

Second ones is some hens will allow you to move her, her chicks and unhatched eggs to a pen and they will continue to sit as long as half the eggs have hatched. Some hens won't allow it.

You will have to wait until they start to hatch than play it by ear.