Question about Chick Feeders!!!

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Sugroxz, May 15, 2011.

1. Sugroxz

Sugroxz Out Of The Brooder

Mar 31, 2011
    Pleasant Hope, Missouri
    I am having issues with my little babies digging the feed out with their beeks and wasting the food. Seems like everyone isn't happy until the feeder is completely empty and the food is wasted..
    I have the chick feeders that they can only get their head in from the feed store.. With chick feed being so high I sure hate them wasting so much of it.. I've tried putting it where only their head can reach and it doesn't matter they still dig it out.. Any Suggestions???

2. Double T

Double T Out Of The Brooder

Mar 11, 2011
    W Texas
    I'm a newbie but mine did that a bit without the top on it (I didn't put it on for the first week and a half cause they'd dive through the openings and I was scared they'd get their heads hung and pull their heads off), but since i put it on now that they are bigger it's been better. I think Chickens just naturally have to scratch their feed out of the pans? Or mine all seem to, but mine seem to clean it up quickly.

3. Rooneytune

Rooneytune Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 18, 2011
    Tacoma
    My chicks like to do this for a while too, what helped was to hang the feeder so they can just reach it when they are standing and then I put a pie plate under teh feeder to catch what they threw out. I didn't "reuse" the spilled food exactly, but it seemed to help them find it and eat it after they had removed all the food from the feeder. I also started putting in less food and refilling more often. [​IMG]

4. HEChicken

HEChicken Overrun With Chickens

Aug 12, 2009
    BuCo, KS
    My Coop