Question about coturnix behavior--what's OK?

Discussion in 'Quail' started by QChickieMama, Oct 1, 2011.

1. QChickieMama

QChickieMama Chillin' With My Peeps Premium Member

Oct 1, 2011
    We've had 24 coturnix for about 1 week now. They're 9 wks old today. I'm learning a lot!

I started out building a small coop for them, but it was clearly too small for 24. Just yesterday we moved them to a 8'x3'x2'H coop. I was thinking being in a larger coop would decrease the amount of head-pecking I've been seeing. Since I'm new at this, tell me: is head-pecking unavoidable and normal? Or unacceptable and a reason to cull? I think at least 2 of them are doing this. Maybe it's normal male behavior? I'm stumped. Two or 3 of them do have bald little heads but no bleeding.

The base of the coop is 1x1 hardware cloth, and the coop is suspended on blocks. Besides water & feed, what else should/could I put in there to keep them entertained? Or, more specifically, do they need entertainment to reduce the head-pecking? TOday I put a huge pile of grass clippings in there, but they put every bit through the wire onto the ground.

I'm getting 10 eggs/day already. Exciting. Thanks for any tips you people have to offer!

2. Mibotsu

Mibotsu Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2011
    Balbriggan, Ireland
    change it to 1/2" cloth 1" is waaay to big, snakes and stuff can get thru, 2ndly best thing for them is like evergreen tree limbs, something they can hide under.

personally i'd find the offenders and take them out, males get killed, females get solitary confinment(they still lay tasty eggs [​IMG])

i put cuttlefish bone in there for something they can peck at if they need to. make sure you don't have to many males as well, 1:4 male:hen is best, all the extras can be dinner.

3. QChickieMama

Oct 1, 2011
    Oh, my mistake. It is .5x.5. They'd nearly fall through otherwise.