Question about eggs

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by sandcat, Sep 15, 2010.

1. sandcat

sandcat Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 1, 2010
    My ducks havnt laid any eggs yet and ive had them for about 3 months, I have seen the drake mating with the ducks so im thinking ducklings soon(I hope) my question is- when they lay eggs will they sit on them until they hatch? Do ducks have more than 1 lot of ducklings? Im waiting on eggs that we can use for cooking but dont want to touch any that i might find as they might have ducklings inside. If there is a link about duck eggs that ive missed It would be great if someone could redirect me there:) yes im very new to this so any help would be very much appreciated.

2. KansasKid

KansasKid Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 7, 2010
    South East Kansas
    Ok when your duck does start the egg laying process the first few are usually misshapen, small, and infertile. If you want to (which by reading you don't) you could take the eggs daily like you do for chicken eggs for cooking. If she decides to raise ducklings she will start laying eggs day by day covering them up and sometimes leaving them uncovered (sometimes) until she builds up a good size nest (# depends on breed) and will usually start to sit on them after a week or so (results may differ [​IMG] ) and 28 (more/less) days later poof ducklings.
    If they are good layers/mommas they can lay up to three clutches a year.

Last edited: Sep 15, 2010
  3. katharinad

katharinad Overrun with chickens