Question about Feeding Pigeons

Wyandottes7

Crowing
6 Years
Jul 24, 2013
I am new to pigeons and right now am feeding my two Baldhead Show Rollers a mixture of game bird grower feed (23% protein) and wild bird seed (8% protein). If the pigeons eat half of each type of feed, the average protein level would be 15.5%. I think they are eating more of the bird seed than the grower pellets.

My question is, does this seem like an adequate diet? Has anybody had success feeding pigeons using seed or chicken/gamebird pellets instead of special formulated pigeon feed?

Sorry I have no experience but I feed mine a pigeon mix which has peas and quite a few different types of seeds. The old mix I fed them had these white seeds in them, they went insane for them. I've fed them scratch mix once as a ran out of pigeon food, they didn't eat the pellets. They still manage to get some scratch mix when I feed the ducks.

I am new to pigeons and right now am feeding my two Baldhead Show Rollers a mixture of game bird grower feed (23% protein) and wild bird seed (8% protein). If the pigeons eat half of each type of feed, the average protein level would be 15.5%. I think they are eating more of the bird seed than the grower pellets.

My question is, does this seem like an adequate diet? Has anybody had success feeding pigeons using seed or chicken/gamebird pellets instead of special formulated pigeon feed?