Question about Fertilizing Eggs

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by bert428, Apr 17, 2009.

1. bert428

bert428 New Egg

Apr 17, 2009
    Hi. I am new to this so bear with me. I have 20 chickens, 14 hens and 6 roosters I raised from chicks last summer. They are mostly Rhode Island Reds with a couple mixed in with a little white. They are laying a ton of eggs now, about 10-15 a day. I have been checking the eggs with a flashlight and nothing. I see them breeding during the day, but the eggs are not fertilized. The rooster mate, but fight all the time when mating. Do I have to seperate them or pair them off? Do I have to get rid of some of the roosters? I'd like for them to breed and hatch and produce more chickens. All help is greatly appreciated.

2. TheDuckCrew

TheDuckCrew Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 21, 2009
    Connecticut
    [​IMG]
    6 roos with 14 hens is a lot. i'd say get more hens!! in the mean time, maybe seperate them.
    the only way to tell if they are fertile is to crack them open and look for the white bullseye on the yolk. if one is fertile, most likely they all are. considering your hen to roo ratio, i'd say you have fertile eggs. if you leave the eggs for awhile, then one of your hens may become broody and hatch the eggs. if you don't get any broody hens, you'll need an incubator to get little fuzz butts. if you seperate them into pens, then you could wait for the chicks to grow until they can be put with the rest, and just put them in a different pen than their parents.

3. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
  4. patandchickens

patandchickens Flock Mistress

Apr 20, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    Yup, a flashlight only works once the egg has been incubated a while.