Question about goat horns

rapsinfamily

Hatching
11 Years
Apr 17, 2008
We recently have gotten some goats that are horned and we have some smaller goats with way smaller horns. In researching, I've seen that some people oppose removing their horns now (they are 6-7 months old) because it's very painful for them. During the day the butt eachother while they are out pasturing but, at night they are put into an enclosed pen together. We have the smaller ones seperated from the bigger ones right now because we are afraid they are going to get hurt by their horns. Does anyone have experience with this? We just got the smaller ones, so their the new pair and not quite liked yet. I just want to make sure that they will all be able to sleep together soon! Thank you for your help!!
smile.png

well..i am new to owning goats, and i only have 2 of them... but i learned my lesson on having the older goats hornes removed...i would NEVER ever do it again..ever..it really was cruel...she screamed and screamed when i had to change her bandages(i could REALLY tell it hurt her so very badly..
hit.gif
.)...it was a bad time for us all here... i would do whatever else i had to do before i ever did that again...AND..one is even growing back anyways..
barnie.gif
..so it was all for nothing...
sad.png

now, if you get it done like i did for my male goat..his was done within his first week of life..with one of those iron things..it was fine... its just the older goat de-horning that is very bad IMO..best of luck, Wendy

I have a mixed herd regarding horns...some with huge horns, some with regular horns, some disbudded, and one polled.

We have never had an injury...but you can't cram all our goats together in a small area and expect that to remain true. Someone would eventually get cornered and gored...