Question about hatcheries "Free" chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by realsis, Feb 15, 2016.

1. realsis

realsis Crazy for Silkies

Jan 17, 2013
    California
    Hi friends. This is my first year ordering from a hatchery as I've always used breeders. But financially the hatcheries make much more sense for me. I see most hatcheries have a "free" chick. Weather they call it "free exotic" or "meal maker" " mystery chick"ect
    as I looked at many different places I saw the free chicks sex couldn't be picked except for Meyers. They had female or male to choose from for there free chick. as for the other free chicks do they send mostly Males for their "free exotic" ect. or did I miss seeing the option to pick the sex?

Last edited: Feb 15, 2016
  2. Alexandra33

Alexandra33 Chillin' With My Peeps

Pretty sure there isn't an option on any of the other hatchery's websites. Meyer doesn't exactly give you a choice, rather they go by what your order is consisted of (ex. if you've ordered 7 pullets, they'll give you another pullet, or if you've ordered the Fry Pan Bargain, which is a bunch of roosters for meat, they will include another roo). We've so far gotten two Meal Makers from Meyer, and they've both been female Barred Rocks, though that obviously isn't the only breed offered. [​IMG] It's so exciting to get new chicks!

-Alex

3. realsis

Jan 17, 2013
    California

Hi if you look on MEYERS website and go to Meyers Meal Maker you WILL now see the CHOICE. MMMF meyer meal maker female OR MMMM meyer meal maker male. you choose the sex now and then they go by similar birds meat for meat layers for layers maybe this is new??? :) but I agree VERY exciting to get a suprise breed!!♡♡

4. Alexandra33

Oops, an error on my part! [​IMG] I didn't realize that there actually was an option, but maybe either I didn't see it, or like you said, it's new. I guess I'm the one who learned something today! [​IMG] Oh dear, I'm so sorry for the unintended misinformation.