Question about lockdown/hatching

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by DoubletakeFarm, Mar 26, 2015.

1. DoubletakeFarm

DoubletakeFarm Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 23, 2013
    NE Ohio
    For some reason I haven't seen this question addressed or I just can't find it. I've been incubating for a few years now but I don't understand something: I put my eggs in lockdown with the air cells in the right position for the chick to hatch. But when they start hatching the chicks that hatch first knock all the other eggs around and knock them out of position. It's like bator bumper cars. Isn't this effecting my hatch rate? Wouldn't that mess up the chick that hasn't hatched yet? I tried leaving the rails in once to avoid this, but it seemed to me that it was too tight and that the chick needed to rock around to get out of the egg. I see that some people use egg cartons, but I was afraid there wouldn't be enough air circulation in the incubator with the egg cartons in there.

Advice? Am I wrong thinking that this messes up the ones that haven't hatched yet?

2. AmyLynn2374

AmyLynn2374 Humidity Queen

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY