Question about my first time hatching chickens with my students!!

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by lizp8, Jun 7, 2011.

1. lizp8

lizp8 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 7, 2011
    Hello everyone! [​IMG] This is my first time hatching chicken eggs. My first grade students and I are learning about life cycles and one of the cycles we are learning about is chickens, so I decided it would be beneficial for them to see the process. We are very excited as today is day 15 of incubation! Some of my students and I noticed that a couple of the lighter eggs have dark spots all over them (they look like they are coming from the inside). Is this normal? Any feedback would be helpful. Thank you!

~Liz

2. debilorrah

debilorrah The Great Guru of Yap Premium Member

Oh gosh yes!!!! Eggs come speckled, green, blue, pink, chocolate brown, tan... All sorts of colors. I encourage you to do all your research PRIOR to starting the process, so you are able to provide your students with good and valid inforation. Too many times I see teachers here halfway through a hatch asking questions that should have been asked WAY before setting the eggs.

Good Luck!!! [​IMG]

3. flnatv

flnatv Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 7, 2011
    West Tennessee
    I am also a teacher.... PLEASE make sure there are homes already lined up for these babies... and you have the brooder set up with the correct temperatures.
    Do you know what breeds you are hatching?

4. lizp8

lizp8 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 7, 2011
    Thanks! I did do research but I could not find anything about this for some reason. I know what they look like on the inside but I was just checking from the outside. Actually, the students did some research themselves, we have a science kit about different life cycles as well.