Question about roo fighting each other.

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by southernsibe, Sep 21, 2007.

1. southernsibe

southernsibe Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 15, 2007
    Lanexa, Virginia
    I'm new to this, and I'm not entirely sure what to do. I have 2 bantams that are fighting each other. I saw them going at it when I put out morning food few days ago. I also observed that my turkeys were getting involved with the frey. Especially the female turkey, she was pulling on the little guys tags. The roo's are both bantam frizzles and they are white, so any blood shows up very vividly. I separated them, and now have put one back in with the flock, but I kept the other one out because he was injured worse, and needs to heal a bit more. My question is, how far do I allow them to take it, before intervening and either separating them by giving one away or culling? Strangely enough to me, the "king rooster" a huge leghorn did not step in and split them up as I hacve seen him do in the past. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Rachel

2. Nichole77

Nichole77 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 14, 2007
    Arizona
    Sell tickets and take bets. Oh wait thats illegal. Sorry I don't have any advice but good luck.

3. rooster-red

rooster-red Here comes the Rooster

Jun 10, 2007
    Douglasville GA
    How big is your run, and how many chickens do you keep in it?

4. FrankBlissett

FrankBlissett Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 30, 2007
    Your alpha roo didn't step in because the tussle was irrelivent to his standing - it's like a high school senior boy not getting involved in a fight between ninth graders. If he had gotten involved, there was nothing for him to gain (the other roos still consider him alpha) and everything to lose (if he was somehow beaten back).