Question about rooster behavior?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by dsqard, Sep 13, 2010.

1. dsqard

dsqard Crazy "L" Farms

Jun 11, 2010
    York PA
    Will a rooster try to mount a hen well before she has reached maturity? I am new to chickens and still waiting for that first egg. I know I am getting closer but I think I still have a ways to go on my Ameraucana pullets. They are supposed to be around six months but they look younger to me. I have four wyandotte pullets that are four months old that look closer to laying but I saw my rooster (he is three years old) trying to mount one of the Ameraucana pullets the other day. She did not allow him to mount her but I was wondering if he would only attempt it if she is close to laying? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

2. ThePamperedPullet

ThePamperedPullet Chillin' With My Peeps

Generally, a rooster will start to mount a hen when she is within 2 weeks of laying. A young rooster, who doesn't know what he is doing yet, will mount a milk jug. An older rooster who has not had a hen in a while will mount a chick. But the general rule is about two weeks before laying.

3. Ridgerunner

Ridgerunner Chicken Obsessed

Feb 2, 2009
    Northwest Arkansas
    Mounting is not only mating behavior. It is also dominance behavior. It is a good sign and your Ameraucanas are certainly old enough, but is not an absolute sign she is ready to lay. And don't put much into the pullet running away. If she had squatted, it would have been a very good sign, but a hen already laying will often try to run away from a rooster. With the ages, even if they are a bit younger than they are supposed to be, it should not be too much longer.

Good luck!

4. dsqard

dsqard Crazy "L" Farms

Jun 11, 2010
    York PA