1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Question about shipping babies

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by dandydoodle, Nov 6, 2011.

1. dandydoodle

dandydoodle Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 21, 2010
    georgia
    I have someone that wants me to do a hatch and ship them for them. I have never done this before. If I do it I want to make sure the babies make it there okay. At what age is the safest age to send them. Please any advice about shipping babies would be appreciated. Where is the best place to buy boxes? How do I make sure they have enough food and water to make it there. How should I ship them? ( overnight, express) and who should I ship them with? Please help.

Thanks,
    Michelle [​IMG]

2. dandydoodle

Sep 21, 2010
    georgia
    Oh yea, another question. How do you figure out how much shipping is gonna cost. I am sure they decide the price by weight, do you have to take the chicks in to find the price? I mean you have to tell the person to get the price for shipping but, how do you find out the price before taking the birds to the post office?

I really appreciate the help.

3. easttxchick

easttxchick Lone Star Call Ducks

Aug 3, 2009
    You can order shipping boxes from most of the hatcheries. You can also get the grow gel and heat packs that are used for shipping through them. No water is necessary.
    Chicks can only be shipped as day olds or as adults(several months old)-anything in between is dangerous.
    They need to be shipped Express Mail only.
    In my opinion, since you are hatching the chicks, it would be at least another 3 weeks before they would ship-that is pushing too hard up against winter and it's just too cold to ship them.
    Wait until spring for best results. [​IMG]

4. dandydoodle

Sep 21, 2010
    georgia