1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Question about toxic plant in chicken area...

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by erinangele, Jul 2, 2011.

1. erinangele

erinangele Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 2, 2011
    Hi Everyone, i'm new to BYC (just finished posting my introductory). I hope this is the right section for this question [​IMG] Our chicken coop will be in a fenced off section of our yard. All of our current plants are mature, and i will be planting some new chicken friendly plants as well. I just noticed that Hydrangea's are toxic to chickens, we have a HUGE hydrangea bush in the area our chickens will be "free ranging". Will they know to stay away, or will i need to find a way to fence off this plant? If so, any suggestions? It covers part of our walkway.

2. centrarchid

centrarchid Chicken Obsessed

Sep 19, 2009
    Holts Summit, Missouri
    Mine are free range as well with numerous toxic plant species (i.e. several types of milkweed, hydrangea, rhubbarb) and no losses or obviously sick birds. I has also observed that what might be listed as toxic for humans may still be quite edible for chickens.

3. triplepurpose

triplepurpose Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 13, 2008
    In my experience, chickens are smart enough not to eat things that are poisonous. And logically, being that they're omnivorous scavengers, this makes perfect sense. They wouldn't have survived this long, otherwise.

4. SunnyCalifornia

SunnyCalifornia Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 8, 2010
    Escondido CA
    You can always put up a small piece of chicken wire around the plant, just to discourage them from making that a "favorite" place, but I have toxic plants in my yard too i.e. Brugmansia, and the birds know that if they are caught in that are, they are shoo'd out real quick.