Question about turning eggs..

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by magicpigeon, Jan 11, 2011.

1. magicpigeon

magicpigeon Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 9, 2010
    Hi,
    I'm completely new to this thing, and I have a few questions about turning eggs:

1. Do you set time intervals to turn the eggs? eg. 8:00AM, 12:00PM, 4:00PM? What kind of interval would you recommend, if so?
    2. When they say, turn the egg, do you turn it the whole way?

3.(bonus question) If your incubator doesn't happen to have a window you can look through, how the heck do you tell the eggs have hatched? [​IMG]

magicpigeon/cursedincubator [​IMG]

2. Gypsy07

Gypsy07 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 4, 2010
    Glasgow, Scotland
    1. I have an incubator that automatically turns the eggs every hour but if you're doing it by by hand I *think* the minimum should be twice a day, and thrice would probably be better. As far as I understand, it's to stop the yolk (and embryo) adhering to the inside of the shell. Setting intervals would be sensible just so that you know it's done and you don't forget it but I don't think the actual time intervals themselves are too important...

2. You don't turn the egg all the way round. The idea is to have a different bit of the shell facing upwards so the contents of the egg will move around and not stick. I usually draw an X on one side of the shells and an O on the opposite side so I can check my incubator is turning all the eggs correctly. The automatic turner I've got only moves the eggs about a third of the way round and that seems to work fine, but if you're hand turning I'd say turn them 180 degrees each time. If you put an X and an O on opposite sides of the shells then it's easy to keep track of the turning.

3. I don't know! [​IMG]

3. Baralak

Baralak Chillin' With My Peeps