Question about "Which Rooster to Keep?"

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by mpf, Jul 29, 2011.

1. mpf

mpf Out Of The Brooder

May 1, 2011
    Hey, all. Flock of 7 Plymouth rocks, raised 'by hand' from day 1. About 4 months old.
    They all seem very friendly, but I am a total newbie at this. SUBURBAN area, I need to
    keep a low profile! I wanted to keep a rooster, and select the one that is the most quiet.
    Gently kill the other...But they are still quiet. However, it is now very clear as to which one is dominant.
    I want PETS, not farm beasts. The subordinate one will let me pet him in the coop,
    bossman, NO.
    Question: should I eat the bossman, or is it better for the hens to leave him be?
    The sub. guy seems willing to fight, not meek at all...but he is now routinely 'walking away'
    from a tussle after a spell...and there are more and more spells!
    Thank You for any insight,
    Marty

2. Erica

Erica Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 5, 2010
    Hi Marty,

my thoughts on this are... If you kill the noisy rooster the other one will develop his own noisiness! In other words the subordinate one may be quieter only because he's under the thumb.

Another issue of course is that a good lusty crow generally spells good health... To choose a rooster on quietness of crowing may make sense for a suburban flock, but it's not what many would feel is best for breeding healthy babies. Having said that, who knows? Maybe a great bird can be a quiet crower... It's just that it probably isn't natural for the 2 things to be linked in most cases.