Question for homeschoolers

Discussion in 'Random Ramblings' started by willowcol, Oct 30, 2008.

1. willowcol

willowcol Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 10, 2008
    Macclesfield NC
    This is my first year homeschooling my kids. We hatched our first batch of eggs from a incubator we made, to test if it worked. We had a 90% hatch 9 of 10 eggs yeah! My question now we are gathering more recycled wood to build another coop, plus have more eggs in the bator. My 2 children are designing the coop and with help will build it mostly by themselves, they also track the temps of the eggs, turn them 4 times a day ex. I was wondering I was giving them science credit for part of this, then a friend said they should get math credit also for designing coop, measuring and cutting board ect., so heres the question. Is she right, and are there other subjects I should be giving them some credit/grade for doing this, and do they get daily credit or just like a science project grade. I just am trying to keep good record incase the state wants to see what they did this year (they are using switched on schoolhouse so we do have a regular curr.). Thanks in advance.

2. tabsmonsters

tabsmonsters Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 27, 2007
    Laclede County, MO
    I don't know, but I wanted to bump this up for you so it will get seen.

3. Robin'sBrood

Robin'sBrood Flock Mistress

May 8, 2008
    North Carolina
    I homeschool but I don't give grades (we're not 'unschoolers' either, we do use curriculum books/computer programs.) Designing and working on the coop would definitely count as school work here. Best wishes, sounds fun! [​IMG]

4. willowcol

Oct 10, 2008
    Macclesfield NC
    Thanks glad to know another homeschooler would consider it school work, I am so new to this I just don't know to much yet. My kids are the ones who want the grades, they are still in public school mode.

5. chickens4jojo

chickens4jojo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 26, 2008
    Upstate South Carolina