Question on Breeding Delaware Hens to Dark Cornish Rooster

Belinda's Funny Farm

In the Brooder
9 Years
Jun 9, 2010
Texas
I have straight Delawares - 5 hens and 1 rooster. I am not happy with the amount of meat on the roosters when I butcher them at 20-22 weeks and was thinking of replacing my Delaware Rooster with a Dark Cornish Rooster. I am new to this. Is this a standard cross? Will the chicks be a lot meatier? Do you think the egg production will suffer very much on the hen crosses if I hold some back for egg production?

Because of hybrid vigor and cornish already having large breasts, it should make a good meat bird, and also another plus side would be you would get sexlinked chicks that you could tell the males from females at day old by color. Not sure about the laying with breeding to cornish though.

I was told by the gentleman that processed mine at about the same age as yours that they needed another 4 weeks of growth - you might want to try waiting a little longer if you can. He also suggested penning them in a smaller area than I had them in to keep them less active. My Dels are always moving around and in to something or other, keeping them quieter and feeding them with the idea that you are going to process might also help.
Otherwise, I have no idea about the cross you suggest. Hopefully someone else will.

Quote:
Thanks for the info. I didn't think about them being sex linked. That will be a plus.
thumbsup.gif

Quote:
I appreciate your information. I still have 10 Roosters to butcher that are at 22 weeks right now that I was hoping to let get bigger. I don't mind keeping them longer but they are already in a small pen and the fighting is getting pretty bad. They have also had free choice of feed their whole lives. A couple of days ago I had to isolate 2 roos because they were getting pecked to death and where not being allowed to eat or drink.