Question on coordinating broody hen and eggs

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by McGoo, Jan 4, 2008.

1. McGoo

McGoo Chillin' With My Peeps

I would like to get a few maran eggs to put under a broody hen.

I've never done this before, so I have a couple of questions and plenty more that I haven't even thought of.

How do you know that a broody hen will stay broody and make a good mom? Should I wait until a specific hen goes broody? Like maybe the Light Brahma or the RIR? Or doesn't it really matter? I've got BOs too.

Okay, so let's say that I've got the broody hen that I want. How many days do I have to get the eggs that I want to place under her to replace the golfballs or whatever that's under her? It will take more than 21 days for the replacements to hatch. Will she stay on them?

Should she be separated from the other chooks at the beginning of this process? Don't know if it's best then or after the babies have hatched.

Lots more questions to come. Thanks for your help.

2. jab91864

jab91864 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 3, 2007
    Northern Michigan
    Well I'm sure you'll get better answers than mine but here goes...lol

I hatched silkies last year cuz everybody said they are about the best for being broody. So far this winter 3 of mine have tried to hatch golf balls. The first two sat for a month solid before they gave up...so I think they will work out for me....next time they go broody..lol.

I have another that just started to sit on golf balls the last couple days. I brought her and the nest box of balls into the house today....she is still sitting. If tomorrow she is still sitting I will swap out a couple eggs and see if she does ok. I brought her and the crate she chose to sit in inside because the temps here were -1 yesterday morning...much too cold to hatch anything safely. I figure if I bring her inside I can see if she'll go the distance..so to speak.