Question on integrating flocks

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Riffero70, Mar 10, 2014.

1. Riffero70

Riffero70 New Egg

Mar 1, 2014
    I'm new to or I should say new again to chicken keeping (it's been 30years). I grew up around them but picked up 6 new chicks last week. Today I had the opportunity to rescue two Transylvanian Naked Necks that needed re-homing (We'll be getting them this weekend). They just started laying so are under 1 year from what I've learned so far. My chicks (3 Barred Rock and 3 Americana) are only 1 1/2 weeks old.

I had planned on putting the chicks outside at 8-9 weeks but should I wait longer when integrating them with the two older birds? I know about picking order issues when combining flocks but haven't read anything about what age is best to combine them. Is there a better age to combine chicks to the flock or does it matter?

2. Den in Penn

Den in Penn Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 15, 2011
    SE Pa.
    Depends a lot on how you manage your flock. If they are just housed in a coop and run and never free range, then they should be near the same size when they are mixed. Being the same size in that situation allows them to stand up in the pecking order better. If you do free range then they can be mixed at a younger age. Most like to add them around twelve weeks. In either case it goes better if you can keep them in a separate pen next to each other for a week before they can physically interact. My method is to let them free range together for a month or so before I make them sleep in the same coop.

3. Spangled

Spangled Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 12, 2012
    Serenity Valley