Question regarding space for quail

Discussion in 'Quail' started by DFCottage, Aug 22, 2011.

1. DFCottage

DFCottage Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 17, 2008
    Montpelier, Virginia
    I am new to quail, but have had chickens for years. I decided to try my hand with these now, and will be receiving 50 eggs (4 different cortunix breeds) this week: Texas A&M, goldens, tuxedos, and tibetan. I'm mostly a white meat fan but wanted to try the others as well. My plan is to keep a few for breeders and process the rest when they're ready this fall. I picked up a nice used quail pen that has 2 doors in the back, wire floor, and sits about 3 1/2 ft off the ground. If split into 2 sections, they would be approximately 2'x3'. Would a breeding group of 4 quails be comfortable in there? I don't have a aviary or anything like that to put them in, but I also want them to be comfortable. I wouldn't mind just keeping/breeding 1 variety, in which case they could have the run of the entire pen (2'x6'). I also have another wire floored pen that is about the same size but has much more height to it. Both would give them security from wind/predators. I guess I could process a few of each variety first and see which meat I like better, but do you think given the space I have I could work with 1 or 2 varieties? Thanks for any assistance.

2. animal8

animal8 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 19, 2011
    Oxford
    Well, by law you can keep 6-8 birds per square foot, but I think you'll agree that that's not really ideal. Generally, most people work by 1 square foot of space per bird, so if your enclosures are 2'x3', you'll have 6 square foot of space to work with, which I think would be plenty of space for 4 birds. I know someone who kept 5 Coturnix hens in a 2'x2.5' rabbit cage, and all of her birds got on fine and laid on a regular basis [​IMG]

3. JJMR794

JJMR794 Overrun With Chickens

Mar 2, 2009
    BROOKSVILLE FL