Question....rooster shocked me

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by kjxoxo1, Mar 19, 2012.

1. kjxoxo1

kjxoxo1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2011
    Okay....first Im a newbie and learn things daily....this afternoon while feeding and watering my flock...my Cornish X rooster tried to mount one of my Cornish X hen. These two were born Thanksgiving week which would make them 18 weeks old. Does this mean that eggs may soon be in the making from them or the rest of my flock (Black Australorps and Variety of Guineas). My guineas have been acting really crazy of late....not sure if it is because they are growing up and this is normal or if it is mating season. I really really want some eggs to eat!!! Thanks for any insight!!

2. Bullitt

Bullitt Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 16, 2012
    Texas
    You don't need a rooster for your hens to lay eggs.

Cornish Cross chickens are meant to be butchered at about 6 to 8 weeks old. Also, Cornish Cross roosters can't reproduce because their chest is too wide.

I can't say why your guineas are acting differently. What are they doing?

Your Black Australorps should start laying eggs at around 5 months old.

Last edited: Mar 19, 2012
  3. kjxoxo1

kjxoxo1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 16, 2011
    I have learned that I don't need a rooster to lay eggs...only if I want baby chicks. :) I guess my thoughts when I saw my rooster try to do his thing was that my hens are hopefully coming close to laying time.....I was hoping some of the BYC old timers (because I value their knowledge) would let me know if this was a sign or just a sign that my rooster is growing up.

My guineas are just wilder than normal....more flighty, more unsettled than normal.....maybe it is the spring air.

thanks anyway for your posted reply.

4. m.kitchengirl

m.kitchengirl Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 4, 2011
    Maine
    I am not an "old timer" but I think it is more of a sign of your rooster's sexual maturity than your chickens.