1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Question

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by coolcanoechic, Nov 4, 2011.

1. coolcanoechic

coolcanoechic Chillin' With My Peeps

I'm sure you have all heard this question before, but I'm a newbie and have not figured out how to completely navigate this site yet for previous postings. My apologies if I am asking a redundant question. I am almost ready to receive a few hens from my brother ( as soon as I finish building the coop ) and winter is fast approaching. I was wondering what temps in the winter would cause one to keep their chickens cooped up in their coop for the day. I leave very early in the morning for work and hubby would have to let them out in the morning. I don't want them to be uncomfortable all day with the coop door open....or is that ok? The hens are New Hampshire Reds.
    It gets pretty cold here in New Hampshire in the winter.
    Thanks for any advice I can get [​IMG]

2. ozark hen

ozark hen Living My Dream

Apr 4, 2007
    Mansfield, MO
    if your door is on the south side then or whatever side the storms don't come in where you are at...I would leave it open and give them the choice to go outside. As long as they are dry and out of drafts it will be fine. We have members from Alaska on here that do not heat nor leave them locked up. Welcome and good luck with your chickens. glad you to have you. Most of us learned everything we know from BYC [​IMG]

3. coolcanoechic

coolcanoechic Chillin' With My Peeps