Questions about Breeding from a Noobie

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Hayduke27, Mar 7, 2014.

1. Hayduke27

Hayduke27 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2013
    Gunnison, CO
    Hi all!

I have had my flock for just about a year now, and things are going great. The chickens have pulled through the winter quite nicely, and as the days warm up, I have been getting chicks (of the chicken variety) on the mind.

I have a mixed flock of 12, 11 hens and a rooster. The rooster has been breeding the hens for a few months now, and seems to be getting better at it. This leads me to questions:

1.) The rooster is still pretty clumsy, and though I think he sometimes gets a full smooch in, I can tell that other times he just falls off before he can get the job done. I'm no expert and don't have a trained eye, but this early on is there still a decent chance he's fertilizing some of the hens? Surely he'll get better with age, and I don't want to incubate a bunch of my eggs if they are not fertile. I can see that he does not breed every hen, but there's a chance that if I kept an eye on who's laying, I could get some eggs from the hens that are being bred. Is this how all of this is done? Are there any tricks to this?

2.) My rooster is a Welsummer. He's the only Welly, he's gorgeous, and I really like him. I live in a very cold climate, and after this first winter, have decided that I want future chickens to have small combs/waddles due to frostbite consideration. The welly has a huge comb/waddles. I was thinking that if he bred my light brahmas, those could be some neat offspring. I think they would be large, potentially have some nice coloring, and maybe the brahmas pea comb genes would take over? It would be combining the smallest of combs with the largest to see what happens. This seems insane to me, is this insane?