Questions about coop build..

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by tadpole98, Feb 12, 2013.

1. tadpole98

tadpole98 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 20, 2012
    Missouri
    I am a complete newbie in this area of poultry. This spring, in a month or two, I am getting my first ducklings! (Anconas)
    I will be building a coop before the ducks, because you never buy the cart before the horse. ;)

I am building this coop to be capable of 8 ducks.

Do they need a poop board? Only muscovies roost from what i heard so I wouldnt think so..

How tall should the coop be?

how far off the ground?

What kind of bedding can I use, straw?

How big do the nest boxes need to be?

what do you use for waterers?
    something like this?

[​IMG]

or a bucket?

i think thats all for right now, thanks!

2. Going Quackers

Going Quackers Overrun With Chickens

May 24, 2011
    On, Canada

3. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    To follow up with Going Quackers,

my experience has been pretty much the same. Considerations I used in designing our duckhouse were

height of ducks (runners are tall, entering and exiting the shelter)
    my height and reach - I am not tall for a human, and have short arms. I need to be able to reach ducks, eggs, and areas to clean and maintain
    where will the water go? not in the sleeping area, and out where it will drain and not cause mold
    how deep will the bedding need to be in winter?
    how will I insulate the house? The short answer to this was - in spite of my best efforts - I won't be able to insulate it enough. In winter, the ducks are in the walkout basement pen where it stays above freezing. I have a few ducks who are not winter-hardy and I was not willing to sacrifice them.