Questions about coop design (I'm totally new at this)

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by SophieLain127, Apr 8, 2009.

1. SophieLain127

SophieLain127 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 7, 2009
    So ive been playing with some ideas and would like some opinions and possibly some advice from those of you who have already constructed coops.....

Have any of you used a Solar Panel from like Harbor Freight (a discount hardware store) to power a heat lamp or lights?

If I go the solar panel route I was thinking of getting three for the roof it would run me about $120. One for the light, One for the heat and one for the heated water.

Has anyone used Fiber board or packing peanuts in order to insulate? If not then what type of insulation do you recommend.

Is it better to start off with a few hens in a big house or a small house that will need to be upgraded if I get more chickens?

Has anyone used rolled vinyl flooring or linoleum for their coop? any suggestions?

I was thinking of putting alot of windows in does anyone have alot of experience with this and if so does it really keep up egg production in the winter?

Is there anyone who has stellar picture of the inside of their small coop?

Is it better to have a variety of hens or just one breed?

Thanks for your help I'd like to get this right before I build and there is possibly a disaster.....

2. sweetie54

sweetie54 Out Of The Brooder

Apr 2, 2009