Questions about Duck eggs

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by lauren2k, Jan 5, 2013.

1. lauren2k

lauren2k New Egg

Jan 2, 2013
    Kansas
    Hello everyone! I am kind of new to the duck world and am still learning everything there is to know about ducks. I purchased two ducklings from my work last spring, a pekin and a khaki campbell. I have recently discovered that the pekin is a male and the campbell is a female. Now I am really excited about having eggs! Also, I have noticed that they have started mating as well! I would like to sell ducks eggs for consumption, and I would also like to try selling some for hatching. She hasn't started laying yet, so this is the perfect time for me to do my research and hear from others on what I need to do to be prepared. One of my main questions would be is there anything special I need to do for the eggs I would like to sell for hatching? And what about the eggs I want to sell for consumption? I'm assuming most of her eggs will be fertilized considering the mating that is taking place.

I am open for all the advice I can be given! Thanks! [​IMG]

2. Amiga

Amiga Overrun with Runners Premium Member

Jan 3, 2010
    Southern New England
    Welcome to the Duck Forum!

I hope the Pekin drake is not too rough on the Khaki, which is smaller. Watch out for signs of injury. Some drakes are nice, some can get mean when they mate.

The first several weeks of eggs may be fertile but may not be as robust, so many people do not try to hatch them. Just gather the egg each day and refrigerate it for eating.

I will let more experienced hatchers check in about handling hatching eggs. Please keep us updated!

3. Mrs. Fluffy Puffy

Mrs. Fluffy Puffy Fluffy Feather Farm

Jan 26, 2010
    Texas, Panhandle
    Are you wanting to sell hatching eggs, hatch out ducklings and sell them, or both?