Questions about introducing/integrating 6-week old chicks with 9-week old chicks.

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Falcon Chickens, Oct 9, 2013.

1. Falcon Chickens

Falcon Chickens Out Of The Brooder

Sep 11, 2013
    Falcon, Colorado
    Hello everyone. Long time lurker, 2nd time poster.

I'm very new to all of this, and I have read everything I can find about this topic. I have a few questions that I hope your expertise and experience can help me with.

I've received two separate orders of 4-week-old chicks. The orders were 3 weeks apart. Five of the chicks are now 9-weeks old (had them for 5 weeks), and three of them are now 6-weeks old (had them for 2 weeks). The younger ones are still quarantined to my garage in a small coop, and I had planned on keeping them quarantined for another 2 weeks, then migrate their small coop/run near to my large coop/run so that they could get used to each other but not touch each other.

My confusion:
    - I'm supposed to keep the young'uns quarantined for 30 days, but I've read that if I got them from a reputable hatchery, I don't need to do that. I got all 8 of them from the same hatchery, and they are supposed to have all been vaccinated for the same things.

- I'm supposed to keep them separated until the youngest ones are big enough to defend themselves, but the older ones are still growing too. It will be a long time until they are all full grown.

- It will soon be winter where I live, and if I don't get the young'uns out of my garage and into the COOL weather soon, they will have a tough time of it once the COLD weather gets here. Their small coop is not insulated and only has a small heat lamp. The big coop is insulated and draftproof, and is much more suitable for our winters.